Jakarta (ANTARA) - Permission has been granted for the entry of nationals from 19 countries on the principle of reciprocity or equality, Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment, Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan, has said.

According to Pandjaitan, who is also the PPKM (activities restrictions) coordinator for Java-Bali, if countries do not open their doors to Indonesian tourists, then it is likely that Indonesia will remove them from the list.

"If they have not opened to us, we will close the possibility of (reopening borders) or drop them from the list of 19 countries," he said at an online press conference here on Monday.

The 19 countries from where visitors are allowed to fly directly to Bali and Riau Islands have been selected under careful consideration, he added.

These considerations include the number of COVID-19 cases and low positivity rates in each country, based on World Health Organization (WHO) standards, the minister said.

According to Pandjaitan, the President has also reminded the officials to continue to conduct weekly evaluations to mitigate the adverse effects of opening entry to travelers from 19 countries.

Related news: Indonesian govt sets entry requirements on foreigners coming to Bali

The Indonesian government has permitted entry to foreign tourists from 19 countries to Bali and Riau Islands from October 14, 2021.

The 19 countries are Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates (UAE), New Zealand, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, China, India, Japan, South Korea, Liechtenstein, Italy, France, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, and Norway.

The countries were selected according to WHO standards because the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in each of the countries is at Level 1 or 2, with a low positivity rate, Pandjaitan said.

"The list of 19 countries that can enter Indonesia is only valid for direct flights to Bali and Riau Islands," he added.

In addition to a mandatory five-day quarantine, international travelers will be required to present a limited visit visa, health insurance covering COVID-19 positive diagnosis, hotel reservation, and payment proof to officials upon their arrival, the government's spokesperson for COVID-19 Task Force, Wiku Adisasmito, said earlier.

Related news: Task Force necessitates 5-day quarantine for citizens, foreigners
Related news: Rules on foreigners' entry to Indonesia carefully evaluated: ministry

Translator: Ade J, Kenzu T
Editor: Suharto
Copyright © ANTARA 2021