Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Meteorology, Climatology, and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) alerted people in the regions, with "Advisory" and "Watch" status, to immediately evacuate following a 7.5-magnitude earthquake that struck Flores Sea on Tuesday morning.

Hence, the agency immediately issued a tsunami early warning for East Nusa Tenggara (NTT), West Nusa Tenggara (NTB), South Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, and Maluku provinces

Some areas with "Advisory" status comprised Selayar Islands District in South Sulawesi Province as well as the districts of Bombana and Buton in Southeast Sulawesi Province.

Related news: 7.5 Magnitude earthquake in Flores Sea triggers potential tsunami

In addition, the "Advisory" status was issued for Ende Island, Lembata Island, Adonara Island, East Flores District, Sikka District, Manggarai District, Ngada District, and Alor District in NTT Province.

Meanwhile, areas with "Watch" status comprised West Manggarai District in NTT Province; Wakatobi District in Southeast Sulawesi Province; Bima City, Gili Islands, and Dompu District in NTB Province; Wetar Island in Maluku Province; and Bulukumba District in South Sulawesi Province.

The BMKG noted that the waves could arrive at different times in each region. Moreover, the agency warned that the first wave might not be the largest one.

Related news: Early warning tsunami alert for Sulawesi, Nusa Tenggara, Maluku

The regional governments in the "Advisory" status areas were urged to stay vigilant and immediately direct the community to evacuate.

Meanwhile, regional governments in the "Watch" status areas were urged to be alert and immediately urge the public to stay away from beaches and river banks.

The 7.5-magnitude earthquake struck on Tuesday at 10:20 a.m. Western Indonesian Standard Time (WIB) at 7.59 South Latitude and 122.26 East Longitude, at a depth of 12 kilometers (km).

As of Tuesday at 11:40 a.m. WIB, the BMKG noted 15 aftershocks, with maximum magnitude of 5.6.

Related news: BMKG detects 0.07 meter high tsunami in two locations in NTT

Related news: 15 aftershocks strike after 7.5 magnitude quake occurs in Flores Sea

Translator: Devi Ramadhan, Uyu Liman
Editor: Fardah Assegaf
Copyright © ANTARA 2021