Jakarta (ANTARA) - The executive board of the Indonesian Weightlifting Association (PB PABSI) has deployed 16 lifters for the 2022 International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) Asian Championships in Manama, Bahrain, October 6–16.

The athletes who left for Bahrain comprised 6 men and 10 women, manager of the Indonesian weightlifting team, Pura Darmawan, told ANTARA over the telephone on Friday.

"They are in good condition and hopefully, can achieve maximal results in Bahrain," he remarked.

In the men's competition, Indonesia will rely on Satrio Adi Nugroho, Ricko Saputra, Mohammad Yasin, Riski Juniansyah, Rahmat Erwin Abdullah, and Muhammad Zul Ilmi.

Meanwhile, Najla Khoirunnisa, Siti Nafisatul Hariroh, Windy Cantika Aisah, Juliana Klarisa, Natasya Beteyob, Nelly, Sarah, Tsabitha Alfiah Ramadhani, Restu Anggi, and Nurul Akmal will participate in the women's competition.

Indonesian athletes are participating with high motivation since the event will be a proving ground for them to be chosen to represent Indonesia in the qualifying event for the 2024 Paris Olympics, he said.

Moreover, the association is using the event to measure how far Indonesian athletes can go and also to evaluate opponents' strength for the World Championship in Colombia, Darmawan explained.

He further informed that Indonesia has a shot in three featured classes. However, he did not clarify which classes the athletes are expected to bag a gold medal in.

"We ask for prayer and support. We hope that the athletes that participate in this Asian Championships can achieve the best results. All athletes are on fire," he remarked.

The 2020 Asian Championships were held in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, on April 16–25, 2021.

Indonesia bagged two bronze medals through Windy Cantika in the women's 49-kg snatch and Rahmat Erwin in the men's 73-kg clean and jerk.

Related news: Five Indonesian weightlifters qualify for Tokyo Olympics
Related news: Jambi lifter M Ripqi Ramadhan sets two new national records

Translator: Muhammad Ramdan, Fadhli Ruhman
Editor: Suharto
Copyright © ANTARA 2022