Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Executive Board of the Indonesian Weightlifting Association (PB PABSI) will send 10 weightlifters to participate in the international championship "2023 Grand Prix IWF" in Havana, Cuba, from June 8 to 18.

PB PABSI Secretary General Djoko Pramono stated that the championship in Cuba also serves as a qualification event for the Paris 2024 Olympics.

"The weightlifting association has signed a contract to strive for the Olympics. Therefore, we are facing challenge upon challenge," he said at the athletes' send-off ceremony at Kweni Athletes Dormitory here on Sunday.

"Almost every month we take part in various championships, especially abroad," Pramono added.

In Cuba, the athletes will be accompanied by five coaches and two masseurs.

The athletes will leave in two batches: the first batch will depart on Monday, June 5, while the second batch will depart on Thursday, June 8.

According to the coach of Indonesia's national weightlifting team, Dirdja Wihardja, the championship in Cuba is essential to improve Indonesia's rank ahead of the Olympics.

"In Cuba, athletes have the opportunity to improve their rank in their respective classes. Of course, every athlete must make progress by increasing the weights they lift in every event they participate in," he said.

He noted that every athlete must participate in at least five out of seven championships to qualify for the 2024 Olympics.

Two of the championships are mandatory, namely the 2023 IWF World Championship in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, from September 2 to 17, 2023, and the 2024 IWF World Championship in Phuket, Thailand, from April 2 to 11, 2024.

"Then, athletes must also participate in three regional championships out of five championships that become the qualifiers for the 2024 Olympics. Everyone must follow this rule because it is a requirement to participate in the Paris Olympics," he remarked.

The 10 athletes comprise six male weightlifters and four female weightlifters.

The six male athletes are:
  • Rahmat Erwin Abdullah (81 kg class)
  • Rizki Juniansyah (73 kg class)
  • Eko Yuli Irawan (61 kg class)
  • Ricko Saputra (61 kg class)
  • Mohammad Yasin (67 kg class)
  • Muhamad Zul Ilmi (89 kg class)
The four female athletes are:
  • Natasya Beteyob (59 kg class)
  • Sarah (59 kg class)
  • Restu Anggi (71 kg class)
  • Nurul Akmal (+87 kg class)
Related news: KOI commends team sports athletes' achievements in 32nd SEA Games
Related news: Indonesia to host cycling qualifiers for 2024 Paris Olympics

Translator: Muhammad Ramdan, Raka Adji
Editor: Anton Santoso
Copyright © ANTARA 2023