Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Ministry of Law and Human Rights' Immigration Directorate General starts implementing online electronic Visa on Arrival (e-VoA) and e-Visa payment (payment gateway) policy.

"Payment gateway is a collective effort to provide convenient immigration services and support the national investment climate," Acting Director General of Immigration at the Ministry Widodo Ekatjahjana noted here, Sunday.

This policy aligns with the Finance Minister's Regulation No. 157/PMK.02/2022 which allows visa Non-Tax State Revenue (PNBP) payment at the Ministry of Law and Human Rights starting from November 4, 2022.

This regulation endorses payment gateway as a visa payment method, be it e-VoA or e-Visa. Previously, payment can only be undertaken through billing code and cash for VoA.

Payment gateway is a mechanism that reads and transfers payment information from customers to provider bank account. The system will capture data, ensure the availability of fund, and facilitate payment.

"This payment gateway is specifically for visa payment. This would allow payment through credit card, debit mastercard, visa, and JCB," Ekatjahjana added.

He is optimistic that this system will broadly open the potential for tourism and economy in Indonesia while at the same time serving as a milestone for the Immigration Directorate General public service innovation.

Lastly, the policy is expected to have a positive impact on the economy particularly the tourism sector including facilitating multinational business agreements and potentially creating new jobs.

"The implementation of payment gateway in the visa system is intended to reduce the queue for visa on arrival payment in the bank's counter," he added.

Earlier, through a statement on Thursday, Ekatjahjana noted that e-VoA and payment gateway will be inaugurated on November 9, 2022 or before the G20 Summit in Bali.

Related news: Second-home visa introduced to foreign investors by immigration, SIER
Related news: Immigration to adopt electronic visa on arrival soon

Translator: M Zulfikar, Fadhli Ruhman
Editor: Suharto
Copyright © ANTARA 2022