Jakarta (ANTARA) - Vice President Ma'ruf Amin stated that election organization in four new provinces in Papua had been arranged to ensure locals can participate in national and regional elections.

"We already issued all regulations for new autonomous regions in Papua. Papua (region) is now divided into six provinces: four divided from Papua Province and two from West Papua Province. Everything has been arranged," Amin stated during his working visit to Banjar Baru, South Kalimantan, on Friday.

The vice president's statement was made in response to queries regarding the recent government evaluation of ongoing election preparations for the four new Papuan provinces.

He remarked that the General Elections Commission (KPU) had made appropriate arrangements to ensure the new provinces can participate in presidential and legislative elections.

"The KPU has arranged everything to ensure the new provinces can participate in elections, including to vote in the presidential election, residents can be the candidate for DPR RI (House of Representatives) or DPD RI (Regional Representatives Council), and (other arrangements) relevant to the election," Amin elaborated.

Meanwhile, the vice president also expressed the four new provinces' readiness to participate in the next PON National Games in Aceh and North Sumatra, for which issues were discussed at the recent cabinet meeting.

"Hence, new administrative divisions will participate as the new province, no matter, if they are lacking in athletes, only have the flag, or (can participate only in) some sports, because they are now autonomous regions," Amin stated.

Last December, President Joko Widodo issued Government Regulation in-lieu-of Law No. 1 of 2022 to regulate elections in the four new Papuan provinces and the new capital Nusantara City.

The regulation signed on December 12, 2022, instructs KPU and the General Elections Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu) to establish regional offices for the new autonomous regions.

Moreover, to accommodate proportionality in parliamentary representation, the regulation dictates that DPR RI seats increase from 560 to 580.

Related news: Bappenas seeks to complete 2025--2045 RPJPN before elections
Related news: Police prepare anti-terror measures for 2024 elections

Translator: Rangga Pandu AJ, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2023