Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Directorate General of Civil Aviation of the Transportation Ministry has announced the start of 15 trailblazer flight routes from Nabire, Central Papua.

The operation of the flights is part of the 2024 trailblazer air transportation program at the Nabire Regional Coordinator.

In a statement released by her office on Friday, director general of civil aviation, M. Kristi Endah Murni, informed that the first flight was carried out on January 8, 2024, as a follow-up to the signing of the 2024 trailblazer air transportation contract in early January.

She said that the program is proof of the government's vision to be present in all regions of the country.

"After signing the trailblazer air transportation contract in early January, almost all regional coordinators have made their first flights," Murni informed.

According to her, each regional coordinator and air transport business entity (BUAU) can carry out the contract properly, according to the written terms.

"The provision of this air transportation is expected to boost the economy, stability, resilience, and security of the country, especially in the underdeveloped, frontier, and outermost (3T) areas," she added.

Meanwhile, head of the Nabire Class II Airport Management Unit (UPBU), Setyani Mahendra, said that in 2024, the Nabire Regional Coordinator will serve 15 trailblazer passenger flight routes.

"Thank God, the first flight went smoothly," Mahendra remarked.

He said that the natural topography of Papua region mostly comprises mountains with steep valleys. Thus, air transportation is the only mode that can be used to reach inland areas with an airstrip.

"We hope this program can run well without significant obstacles to accommodate people who really need it," he added.

Nabire Regional Coordinator is serving round trips on the following routes every week: Nabire-Moanamani (two times a week), Nabire-Bilorai (three times), Nabire-Faowi (two times), Nabire-Mulia (three times), Nabire-Ilu (two times), Nabire-Ilaga (three times), Nabire-Enarotali (three times), and Nabire-Sinak (two times).

They further include Nabire-Waghete (three times), Waghete-Kapiraya (two times), Nabire-Beoga, Nabire-Wasior, Nabire-Dagai, Nabire-Utarom, and Nabire-Pogapa.

Related news: Garuda Indonesia to open flight route to Manokwari: Governor
Related news: Flight services restarted at Aminggaru Airport in Papua's Ilaga

Translator: Benardy Ferdiansyah, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2024