Jakarta (ANTARA) - Tens of election observers from various countries confirmed that they will participate in Indonesia's Election Visit Program that enables them to monitor voting at polling stations on the election day, a KPU commissioner stated.

The program would be held in Jakarta on Feb 12-15 during which they would visit several polling stations in Jakarta, West Java, and Banten, the General Elections Commission (KPU) member, Mochammad Afifuddin, stated.

As of Friday (Feb 2), eight elections commissions, 17 foreign embassies, one American university, three international agencies, and seven international election watchdogs had confirmed their participation.

"We have invited 14 international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that focus on election issues. Seven of them have confirmed their participation in our program," he remarked.

He, however, did not provide detailed information on the names of embassies, elections commissions, agencies, and NGOs that have confirmed to send their observers to monitor Indonesia's upcoming elections.

According to Afifuddin, the KPU has also invited universities and several ministries and government agencies in Jakarta to take part in the program.

Related news: VP Amin stresses on remaining neutral amid election dynamics

ANTARA reported earlier that the KPU had declared that a total of 204,807,222 voters were registered on the final voter list for the 2024 General Elections.

The KPU also announced that the presidential and parliamentary elections will be held simultaneously across Indonesia on February 14.

The commission has officially set a 75-day election campaign period for the three pairs of presidential and vice presidential candidates from November 28, 2023, to February 10, 2024.

All participating political parties and presidential contenders have pledged to conduct peaceful presidential and parliamentary elections.

As part of its efforts to make voters aware of the three candidate pairs' political pledges, the commission has decided to organize five rounds of debates ahead of the presidential election.

The first and second rounds were held on December 12 and December 22, 2023. The third round took place on January 7, 2024, while the fourth and fifth rounds will be held on January 21 and February 4, respectively.

The three pairs of presidential and vice presidential candidates contesting the presidential election are Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD.

Baswedan and Iskandar have been nominated with the support of the NasDem Party, National Awakening Party (PKB), Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), and Ummat Party.

Meanwhile, Subianto and Raka have the backing of the Gerindra Party and a coalition of parties, including Golkar, National Mandate Party (PAN), Democratic Party, and Gelora Party.

Pranowo and Mahfud have the support of the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP), United Development Party, Perindo Party, and Hanura Party. (INE) Related news: Resigned as minister to prevent conflict of interest: Mahfud

Translator: Rio F, Rahmad Nasution
Editor: Aditya Eko Sigit Wicaksono
Copyright © ANTARA 2024