Jakarta (ANTARA) - Foreign Affairs Minister Retno Marsudi emphasized that implementation of the 2024 elections abroad is completely under the authority of the General Elections Commission (KPU).

Marsudi noted that her side did not have any authority or role in organizing overseas elections.

"Do not get mixed up. (Overseas election) is not the Embassy's job. Overseas elections mirror the election in Indonesia. It is all the same, only took place in foreign countries," she remarked on Wednesday.

After casting her vote at the Polling Station (TPS) 156 in the Pesona Khayangan Depok, West Java, the minister stated that Article 1, Paragraph 13 of Law Number 7 of 2017 concerning Elections states that the Overseas Election Committee (PPLN) was formed by the KPU to carry out elections abroad.

"Therefore, no other party has the authority to manage the election process apart from the KPU, including overseas elections whose authority has been represented by PPLN," she noted.

However, Marsudi said that Indonesian representatives abroad would still support the implementation of elections if necessary, such as allowing voting to take place at Indonesian embassies.

"There are several countries where the number of Indonesians is not too big. The election can be held at the Indonesian embassy," she remarked.

Related news: Overseas voting proceeding smoothly: Foreign Ministry

However, the minister noted that the PPLN had to seek a more spacious place outside the Indonesian Embassy complex if the number of Indonesian citizens voting in a country is quite large, such as in Malaysia.

The 2024 elections are being held to elect the president and vice president, members of the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI), Regional Representatives Council (DPD), and Regional Legislative Councils (DPRD) at the provincial, city, and district levels, with a national level permanent voter list (DPT) of 204,807,222 voters.

Voting for the 2024 General Election will be held simultaneously to elect legislative candidates as well as the president and vice president on Wednesday, February 14, 2024.

The three pairs of presidential-vice presidential candidates participating in this year's election are Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar with official number 1; Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, official number 2; and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, official number 3.

In accordance with KPU Regulation Number 3 of 2022, the national vote recapitulation for the 2024 Election is scheduled to take place from February 15 to March 20, 2024.

Related news: Overseas election results' claim surfacing before Feb 14 false: KPU

Translator: Nabil Ihsan, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Yuni Arisandy Sinaga
Copyright © ANTARA 2024