Jakarta (ANTARA) - Presidential candidate Prabowo Subianto is optimistic that he and his running mate Gibran Rakabuming Raka would win the 2024 Indonesian Presidential Election in a single round.

While addressing his supporters at the Istora Senayan arena here, Wednesday (Feb 14) evening, the presidential hopeful said he is grateful for quick count results from survey agencies indicating he and Gibran are leading over other candidates.

"All quick count results by survey agencies, including agencies affiliated with other candidates, indicated that the Prabowo-Gibran pair will win in a single round," Prabowo emphasized.

However, Prabowo urged his supporters to contain their euphoria and not become arrogant just because the quick count indicated the result was in their favor.

"Me and Gibran hope that while we are grateful (for the results), we should not be arrogant and overly euphoric. We should remain humble," he stated.

The presidential candidate also appealed to his supporters to wait for the official result from the General Elections Commission (KPU) that will tabulate the election results in stages until next month.

"Brothers and sisters, we still should wait for KPU's official results. We believe that Indonesia's democracy works well," Subianto stated.

More than 204 million Indonesian voters cast their ballot on February 14 to elect the president and vice president, members of the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI), Regional Representatives Council (DPD), and regional legislatures (DPRD) at the provincial, city, and district levels.

The three candidate pairs vying for the national leadership in this year's election are Anies Baswedan and Muhaimin Iskandar as candidate number one; Prabowo Subianto and Gibran Rakabuming Raka as candidate number two; and Ganjar Pranowo and Mahfud MD as candidate number three.

According to KPU Regulation No. 3 of 2022, the nationwide vote recapitulation for the 2024 Election is scheduled to take place from February 15 to March 20, 2024.

Related news: Exit poll shows Prabowo-Gibran lead in presidential election
Related news: Prabowo-Gibran win big at polling station where Prabowo voted
Related news: Bawaslu records 1,200 violations during elections

Translator: Fath Putra Mulya, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Azis Kurmala
Copyright © ANTARA 2024