Bandung, West Java (ANTARA News) - Indonesian mountain climbers grouped in the Seven Summits Expedition Mahitala Unpar (Bandung-based Parahiyangan University) on Friday finally raised their national red-and-white flag on the peak of Mount Everest (8.848 masl) in the Himalayas.

Mahitala Unpar executive board chairperson Fiona Ekaristi Putri said here on Friday the Seven Summits Expedition Mahitala Unpar or ISSEMU team reached the world`s highest mountain peak on Friday (May 20) coinciding with Indonesia`s 103rd National Awakening Day.

The climbers team consisting of Sofyan Arief Fasa, Janathan Ginting, Frans and Broery Andrew who were guided by a Japanese,

Hiroyuki Kuraoka, reached Mount Everest`s peak after scaling its slopes since early May.

The team reached the top in three batches, Broery Andrew was the first team member to arrive at Mt Everest`s summit at 05:22 local time.

Then Janathan Ginting followed at 06:11 local time, Sofyan Arief Fasa and Frans at 9:45 pm local time or 11:00 am Western Indonesia Standard time (WIB).

The team`s manager, Julius Mario, said that all team members had reached Sagarmatha, the highest peak of Everest.

According to Julius Mario, the team`s conquest of Mt Everest happened two days later than the targeted date , May 18, 2011.

However, the team had made a meaningful achievement because it succeeded in completing the sixth climb of the world`s seven highest peaks on an a day of historic significance, National Awakening Day.

In their ascent to the highest peak in the Himalayas the team was guided by a senior Japanese climber, Hiroyuki Kuraoka, and Sherpas Pemba Nuru and Gelgen Dorji from Nepal.

Previously, the team had successfully reached five mountain peaks, namely the Carstensz Pyramid (4,884 masl) on February 26, 2009 in Indonesia (Australasia), the Kilimanjaro (5,895 meters above sea level) via Machame on August 10, 2010 in Kenya (Africa). the Elbrus Peak (5,642 masl) in Russia (Europe) on August 24, 2010, Vinson Massive (4,897 masl) in Antarctica on December 13, 2010 and Aconcagua (6,962 masl) in Argentina (South America) on 9 to 29 January 2011.



Editor: Ella Syafputri
Copyright © ANTARA 2011