Nusa Dua, Bali, Nov 17 (ANTARA) - ASEAN leaders here Thursday signed a Bali Concord III declaration containing their resolve to assume a role in efforts to deal with increasing global challenges.

The signing of the Bali Declaration was done in the Nusa Dua 5 Room at the Bali Nusa Dua Convention Center complex at 5.30 Central Indonesia Time.

The ten heads of state/government of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations who signed the declaration were Prime Minister Hun Sen of Cambodia, Sultan Hasanal Bolkiah of Brunei Darussalam, Prime Minister Thongsing Thammavong of Laos, President Thein Sein of Myanmar, Prime Minister Dato Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak of Malaysia, President Benigno Aquino III of the Philippines, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong of Singapore, Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra of Thailand, Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dun of Vietnam and Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

The declaration contains various things linked to the three ASEAN pillars namely politics and security, economy and socio-culture.

In the field of politics and security it touched among other things on conflict resolution, transnational crime and piracy eradication, corruption eradication and nuclear disarmament.

In the field of economy it calls for ASEAN`s participation in the global economy, the strengthening of the ASEAN economy, adoption of production standards and economic commodity distribution, access improvement and technology application, agricultural investment increase and energy diversification.

The socio-cultural pillar meanwhile covers natural disaster mitigation and management, climate change, health, education and culture.

The ASEAN leaders also witnessed the signing of two documents by their ministers, namely an agreement for the establishment of ASEAN Coordination Center for Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Management (AHA Center) by ASEAN foreign ministers and declaration on ASEAN Unity In Cultural Diversity by ministers in charge of culture.

Signing was also carried out on the second protocol on a change of agreement on trade of goods under the framework of agreement on comprehensive economic cooperation between ASEAN and the Republic of Korea.(*)


Editor: Jafar M Sidik
Copyright © ANTARA 2011