...received the award for her efforts to save the environment, the social and culture of Mollo community.
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - A woman from East Nusa Tenggara, Aleta Baun or popularly known as Mama Aleta, won the Goldman Environmental Prize 2013 along with other "environmental heroes" from six inhabited continental regions.

"This woman from Naususu Village of North Mollo subdistrict, East Nusa Tenggara is awarded for her efforts to safeguard the environment as well as the social and culture of Mollo community," Representative of the Goldman Environmental Prize in Indonesia Dita Ramadhani said here, Monday.

Dita said, all the winners will receive the award in a special occasion held in San Fransisco Opera House, the US, on Monday.

Goldman Environmental Foundation has announced six recipients of the Goldman Environmental Prize 2013, a group of people who have courage to combating against any obstacles in order to protect their environment and community.

Mama Aleta, Dita said, received the award for her efforts to save the environment, the social and culture of Mollo community.

Since 1996, Aleta led the fight to resist the operation of two mining companies in a hill, considered as a sacred hill for the Mollos.

Aleta and the Mollos` 11 years of struggling had finally bored its fruit when in 2007 the two companies` mining operation in the region were stopped.

Aleta Baun has organized hundreds of villagers to occupy the marble mining sites in a peaceful "protest while spinning", and stopped deforestation of the sacred Mount Mutis in Timor Island.

The Goldman Environmental Prize which has entered its 24th years is awarded to environmental heroes in six inhabited continental regions every year.

Each winner receives an award of USD 150,000, the largest award in the world for grassroots environmentalists.

The Goldman Environmental Prize was founded in 1989 by civic leaders and philanthropists Richard N. Goldman and his wife, Rhoda H. Goldman.

Recipients of the award are selected by an international board of jury based on a secret nomination submitted by organizations networking and environmental experts from all over the world.

In addition to Aleta Baun from Indonesia, other recipients of the prize are Jonathan Deal (South Africa), Azzam Alwash (Iraq), Rossano Ercolini (Italy), Kimbely Wasserman (the US), and Nohra Padilla (Colombia).

Editor: Ella Syafputri
Copyright © ANTARA 2013