Indonesia`s U-19 soccer team defeated by Australia`s squad

Indonesia`s U-19 soccer team defeated by Australia`s squad

Indonesia's U-19 team and official. (FOTO ANTARA/M Risyal Hidayat)

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - The Indonesian under-19 national soccer team (Timnas U-19) failed to get single point in Group B of the AFC 2014 after being defeated by the squads of Australia on Sunday and Uzbekistan Friday.

The Australian team defeated the Indonesian Timnas U-19, better known as Garuda Jaya, 1-0 in Thuwunna Stadium in Yangon, Myanmar on Sunday afternoon as broadcasted by a national television channel.

On Friday (Oct 10), the Garuda Jaya was defeated by Uzbekistan 1-3 in the first qualifying match of the Group B.

Although the Garuda Jaya still has another contender namely to face the United Arab Emirates, but the Indonesian younger team has no more opportunity to continue playing in the ongoing AFC 2014 tournament.

Meanwhile, the Garuda Jayas captain, Evan Dimas admitted that he and other players depressed and nervous, and are unable to achieve maximum results when facing the Australian squad.

Following the match against Australia, the squad will face the United Arab Emirates in Wunna Theikdi Stadium in Nay Pyi Taw on Tuesday (October 14).

In the opening match, coach Indra Sjafri was unable to field his best team since goalkeeper Ravi Murdiantoand striker Muchlis Ning Hadi Syaifulloh were not in the pink of their health and had to be kept out.

In AFC 2013, Garuda Jaya defeated the South Korean club in the final group G qualifier in Jakartas Bung Karno main stadium.

With this victory, the Indonesian squad automatically qualified for the finals of the AFC U-19 Cup.

The Garuda Jaya lineup includes Ravi Murdianto (goalkeeper), Putu Gede, Hansamu Yama, Fatchu Rahman, M Sharul Kurniawan, M Hargianto, Evan Dimas, Zulfiandi, Maldini Pali, Dinan Javier and Ilham Udin.

The Australian U-19 lineup includes Jordan Thurtell (goalkeeper), Cameron Burgess, Scot Galloway, Riley Paul Woodcock, Hagi Gligor, Christopher Naumoff, Chris Ikonomidis, Stefan Ingo Mauk, Brandon Borrello and Awer Mabil.