At least 150 supporters were taken into custody after the clash.
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - A proverb, "Think before you act, look before you leap," seemingly teaches all people to do good deeds, but the anarchic action allegedly committed by the Jakarta-based soccer team Persijas supporters, "The Jakmania," ended up injuring many people.

Five officers were injured and 19 supporters experienced breathlessness and chest pain, after a clash which erupted during Persija's match against South Sumatra's Sriwijaya football club at Gelora Bung Karno (GBK) Stadium in Jakarta on Friday night (June 24), a police spokesman has said.

"Three people were critically injured and were undergoing treatment at the Kramat Jati Police Hospital," according to the Jakartas police spokesman, Senior Commissioner Awi Setiyono, on Saturday.

On Friday (June 24) night, as many as 155 Persija supporters were arrested by the Jakarta Police after the clash, Setiyono noted, adding that five motorcycles were burnt and two cars were damaged in the clash.

In addition, "at least 150 supporters were taken into custody after the clash," Setiyono further said.

It was also reported that several police personnel had to undergo treatment for serious injuries.

Persija's match against the Sriwijaya football club had earlier been called off in the 81st minute due to a riot after Sriwijaya defeated Persija 1-0.

After Persija's goalkeeper failed to secure the ball, fans ran onto the pitch. Other Persija supporters broke down the fence dividing sector 13 and 14 in an attempt to access the field.

Officers then tried to control Persija supporters.

Earlier, the Jakarta Police had suggested that the next matches of the Jakarta-based soccer team Persija against other teams be held without the spectators after the anarchy allegedly committed by the Persija's supporters, "The Jakmania," on Friday night.

The Jakarta Police spokesman, Senior Commissioner Awi Setiyono, stated here on Sunday that such a recommendation has indeed been submitted to the All Indonesian Football Association (PSSI).

Setiyono further said the police's suggestion of keeping spectators out as Persija plays against other teams was aimed at preventing another riot from happening.

Meanwhile, a recommendation issued at a meeting attended by the Youth and Sports Affairs Minister, Imam Nahrawi, on Monday (June 27), imposed a sanction that The Jakmania wearing attributes were forbidden to watch the rest of Persijas matches.

The important meeting, which was also attended by the organizer of the Indonesia Soccer Championship, better known as Torabika Soccer Championship 2016, namely PT Gelora Trisula Semesta (GTS), the Jakarta Police headquarters and the management of Persija Jakarta, took place in the office of the Sports Ministry.

The meeting also recommended that Persija must not seek supporters in the upcoming six matches (home and away), starting from July 3, 2016.

"The Jakmania supporters are forbidden to attend the matches till the end of the competition," Minister Imam Nahrawi said, reiterating the sanction and explaining that the competition should continue, but the situation must be evaluated.

In the meantime, Persijas president Ferry Paulus has admitted that he accepted the sanction by the government because all sides agreed to it.

Meanwhile, Jakarta Governor Basuki Tjahaja Purnama has criticized Persija supporters for vandalizing the stadium.

Before losing 0-1 to Sriwijaya FC, Persija on June 19 was also defeated by the East Java Provincial soccer club of Arema Cronus Indonesia 0-1 in the Indonesia Soccer Championship (ISC) 2016 at the Kanjuruhan Kepanjen stadium on Sunday night.

A total of 18 clubs are participating in the Indonesia Soccer Championship, better known as Torabika Soccer Championship 2016.

The participating clubs are Arema Cronus FC, Bali United, PS Barito Putera, Bhayangkara Surabaya United, Madura United, Mitra Kukar FC, Persegres Gresik, Persela Lamongan, Persib Bandung, Persija Jakarta, Perseru Serui, Persipura Jayapura, Persiba Balikpapan, PS TNI, PSM Makassar, Pusamania Borneo FC, Semen Padang FC and Sriwijaya FC.

The championship, which offers a cash prize of Rp3 billion, was officially opened by President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) at the Papua provincial city's Mandala Jayapura stadium on April 29.(*)

Reporter: Bustanuddin
Editor: Heru Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2016