Manokwari, Papua Barat (ANTARA) - Votes for the National Democratic Party (NasDem), the Golkar Party, and the Democratic Party strengthened, with them winning three parliamentary seats from the electoral district of West Papua Province.

The plenary recapitulation at the provincial level in West Papua, Friday (10/5), took into consideration nine districts / cities and the vote support for these three parties increased significantly.

On this fourth day, West Papua's General Election Commission (KPU0 completed the vote recapitulation from Wondama Bay District, Arfak Mountains, Raja Ampat, Kaimana, South Manokwari, Tambrauw, Sorong City, Sorong District and Bintuni Bay, and the remaining Manokwari, Fakfak, South Sorong, and Maybrat.

From the results of the provisional calculation, the Golkar Party, the Democratic Party and the NasDem Party had the opportunity to win seats in the House of Representatives. Other parties that saw increased support were the Indonesian Democratic Party- Struggle (PDI-P) and the Gerindra Party.

At the fourth plenary meeting, Friday, the Golkar Party, the Democratic Party, the Nasdem Party, PDI-P and Gerindra Party received significant votes from Sorong and Bintuni Bay.

Of the two regions, the Golkar Party received 26 638 votes, the Democratic Party got 11,397, the NasDem Party 15,235, the Gerindra Party 9,938, and PDI Perjuangan 13,523.

Of the nine regions that have submitted the results of the recapitulation of votes, a significant amount was obtained from Sorong. The Golkar Party won the most votes, namely 20,720, with Cardinal Robert winning the most, 13,139 in the city.

PDI Perjuangan saw 19,220 votes and the biggest contribution came from candidate number 2 Jimmy Demianus Ijie, who saw the highest votes of 13,046. NasDem saw 17,730 votes and Rico Sia saw the most votes at 14,989.

Democrats in Sorong City won 14,380 votes, the largest contributor was Michael Watimena with 11,927 votes. The Gerindra Party received 13,553 votes, with candidate number 1 Ahmad Nausrau being the highest contributor with 6,728 votes.

The legislative candidates are now awaiting their votes from four districts, namely Manokwari, Fakfak, Maybrat and South Sorong.

Translator: Eliswan Azly
Editor: Bambang Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2019