Jakarta (ANTARA) - All provinces of Java and Bali Islands have remained at level 4 the COVID-19 alert despite the imposition of strict people's movement restrictions since July 3, 2021, the Health Ministry has said.

"Like Jakarta, all regencies and cities are at level 4," Siti Nadia Tarmizi, spokesperson for the Health Ministry, said in a press statement on the 'Implementation of Public Activity Restrictions (PPKM)' on the FMB9 YouTube channel here on Wednesday.

All 14 regions in West Java are at level 4, except Majalengka, whose alert level has dropped from level 4 to level 3, she informed.

In Central Java province, 21 regions remain at level 4, except Grobogan and Demak districts, which are at level 3, she said.

"There are districts that have also increased from level 3 to level 4, namely Wonosobo district, Temanggung district and Batang district," she added.

In Yogyakarta province, all districts and cities are at level 4, she said.

As many as 30 regions in East Java province are at level 4. Meanwhile, districts that moved from level 3 to level 4 are Trenggalek, Nganjuk, Lumajang, Probolinggo City, Jember, and Bondowoso, Tarmizi said.

"In Banten province, there are four districts at level 4. Cilegon City, in particular, has increased from level 3 to level 4," she added.

In Bali province, four regions are at level 4. Meanwhile, the level in Klungkung and Gianyar districts has risen from 3 to 4.

Jodi Mahardi, spokesperson for the Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment, said the COVID-19 alert levels from 1 to 4 are decided based on the addition of confirmed cases per 100 thousand inhabitants per week. This is to measure the transmission rate of COVID-19, he explained.

The alert level system is also decided based on the number of inpatients per 100 thousand residents every week. The higher the number, the higher the level set in that area, he added.

Translator: Andi Firdaus, Fardah
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2021