Jakarta (ANTARA) - House of Representatives (DPR) Speaker Puan Maharani affirmed that Indonesian weightlifter Rahmat Erwin's achievement of a bronze medal in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics had strengthened Indonesia's weightlifting medal tradition in the Olympics.

To this end, Maharani lauded Erwin for pocketing a bronze medal in the men's 73-kilogram weightlifting category.

"Erwin's achievement in the Olympics has strengthened the tradition of a weightlifting medal from the Indonesian contingent at every Olympics and not only at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics," the DPR speaker remarked in a statement in Jakarta, Thursday.

As of Wednesday (July 28), Maharani stated that Indonesia had bagged three medals in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, and all of them were in the weightlifting sport.

Three Indonesian weightlifters that had won a medal in the 2020 Olympics are Windy Cantika Aisah, who bagged a bronze medal in the women's 49-kilogram class; Eko Yuli Irawan, with a silver medal in the men's 61-kilogram class; and Rahmat Erwin, who managed to bring home a bronze medal in the men's 73-kilogram category.

"What Windy, Eko, and Rahmat have achieved must be a source of encouragement for other Indonesian athletes, who are currently still competing in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics," she affirmed.

Furthermore, Maharani believes that the achievements of Indonesian athletes in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics are good news in the midst of the coronavirus disease pandemic afflicting Indonesia.

The DPR speaker assessed that such achievements should also motivate all Indonesian children, who are striving in their respective fields.

Maharani highlighted the possibility of Indonesia bagging more medals since Indonesian athletes are competing in several sports disciplines, such as badminton, in which the country has regularly won medals since the 1992 Barcelona Olympics. Related news: Athlete Irawan's historic achievement sets example for youth: DPR
Related news: Widodo congratulates lifter Aisah for winning Indonesia's first medal

Translator: Imam Budilaksono, Raka Adji
Editor: Suharto
Copyright © ANTARA 2021