Jakarta (ANTARA) - President Joko Widodo (Jokowi), on Monday, inducted Djan Faridz and Gandi Sulistyanto as new members of the Presidential Advisory Council (Wantimpres).

"By Allah, I swear that I will be loyal to the 1945 Constitution of Indonesia and will carry out all laws and regulations as straightforwardly as possible as well as dedicate myself to the nation and the country," as read by Faridz and Sulistyanto at the inauguration ceremony in the State Palace here.

Presidential Decision No. 63/P of 2023 on induction of Wantimpres members, dated July 14, 2023, is the legal basis for their induction.

The inauguration ceremony was attended by Wantimpres Chairperson Wiranto, Supreme Court Chief Justice Muhammad Syarifuddin, Presidential Staff Office Chief Moeldoko, as well as other cabinet ministers and officials.

Faridz served as public housing minister from 2011 to 2014 during Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono's presidency. He earlier represented Jakarta as a senator of the Regional Representatives Council (DPD) from 2009 to 2011.

Meanwhile, Gandi Sulistyanto served as Indonesian ambassador to South Korea from 2021 until his induction as a Wantimpres member. He earlier worked in private enterprises.

At the same inauguration ceremony, the president inducted Budi Arie Setiadi as the new communications and informatics minister to replace Johnny G. Plate, who was dismissed last May after being named a suspect in a corruption case.

Jokowi also inducted new deputy ministers on Monday. They are Pahala Mansury as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Nezar Patria as Deputy Minister of Communications and Informatics, and Rosan Roeslani as Deputy Minister of State-owned Enterprises.

Paiman Raharjo and Saiful Rahmat Dasuki are also inducted as Deputy Minister of Villages, Development of Disadvantaged Regions, and Transmigration and Deputy Minister of Religious Affairs, respectively.

Related news: President Jokowi inaugurates five new deputy ministers

Related news: President inaugurates Budi Arie Setiadi as communications minister

Translator: Desca Lidya N, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Tia Mutiasari
Copyright © ANTARA 2023