Jakarta (ANTARA) - Indonesian President Joko Widodo (Jokowi), on Saturday, arrived at the venue for the G20 Summit in New Delhi, India, and was personally welcomed by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Jokowi, wearing a dark blue suit, arrived at the venue at 10:10 a.m. local time, and was personally greeted by PM Modi, who then invited the president to a photo session.

According to the Indonesian Presidential Secretariat's Press Bureau, the two figures took a picture while shaking hands in front of a structure of a wheel that has become an icon of the Konark Sun Temple, one of the world heritage sites recognized by UNESCO.

President Jokowi then headed to the "Leaders' Lounge" to join other leaders participating in the G20 Summit before attending the summit's first session that places "One Earth" as the theme of the discussion.

This year, India holds the G20 Presidency and carries "One Earth, One Family, One Future" as its presidency theme. India received the presidency baton from Indonesia that had successfully hosted the previous G20 Summit in Bali Province in November last year.

Earlier, at a press conference on the 43rd ASEAN Summit in Jakarta on Thursday (September 7), President Jokowi stated that at the G20 Summit, Indonesia would voice the importance of upholding the commitment to preserving stability and peace for the world.

"We will voice the commitment to stability and peace, as I believe these are the keys to prosperity," he remarked.

The head of state underscored the world's need for sustainable stability and peace to achieve global prosperity. He also placed emphasis on the importance of cooperation and collaboration.

President Jokowi affirmed that Indonesia, the 2023 chair of ASEAN, is committed to fighting for the rights and interests of developing countries in the hopes of helping them boost the prosperity of their people.

Meanwhile, at home, the government is currently promoting and implementing the industrial downstreaming policy that aims to elevate the living standards of people.

G20 stands for the Group of Twenty that comprises Australia, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Japan, Italy, Saudi Arabia, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union.

The 20 global economic powers represent 85 percent of the world's gross domestic product, 75 percent of the overall global trade, and two-thirds of the earth's total population.

Related news: Indonesia to echo stability, peace commitment at G20 Summit: Minister
Related news: Minister Sadikin conveys Indonesia's health agendas at G20 India


Translator: Indra Arief, Tegar Nurfitra
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2023