Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Indonesian General Elections Commission (KPU) will send a team to investigate the ballot papers that have been voted on in Malaysia.

"We will send a team to investigate the voting in Malaysia, both postal voting and Mobile Ballot Boxes (KSK)," KPU member Idham Holik, stated on Wednesday.

Until now, his side has yet to confirm the issue. Hence, the KPU will directly check the authenticity of the ballot papers.

"That is the function of our team that will be deployed to visit the Overseas Election Committee (PPLN) in Malaysia," he remarked.

Earlier, a video circulated had showed that ballot papers for the 2024 legislative and presidential elections had been voted on in Malaysia. For the 2024 presidential election, the video showed the voted ballot paper for candidate pair number 3, Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD.

Meanwhile, the Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka National Campaign Team (TKN) stated that it would immediately send a fact-finding team to investigate allegations of election fraud in illegal ballot voting in Malaysia.

"On Wednesday, we may send a fact-finding team to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, consisting of three or four people to investigate this problem," Deputy Chairman of TKN, Habiburokhman, noted in a press conference on Tuesday (February 6).

He affirmed that his side would use its power to fight all forms of fraud in the 2024 Election.

On the same occasion, the TKN also showed a video exposing an alleged fraud of several sacks bearing the words "Malaysia Post" and containing voting papers for the 2024 legislative and presidential elections.

Moreover, several people were seen voting on the 2024 legislative election ballot papers for certain parties. There were also ballot papers for the 2024 presidential election with the candidate pair number 3 being already voted.

The TKN immediately reported the alleged fraud to the Elections Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu).

The KPU has named three candidate pairs in the 2024 presidential election, namely the pair Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, with the official number 1; Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, with number 2; and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, with number 3.

The 2024 presidential election campaign period started on November 28, 2023, and will continue until February 10, 2024, and followed by the voting day on February 14, 2024.

Related news: KPU vows to trace 3,238 duplicate voters' names in Malaysia
Related news: 7,256 Indonesians in Malaysia registered as voters in Nunukan: KPU

Translator: Narda Margaretha S, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2024