Jakarta (ANTARA) - Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati called on the elected president and vice president to maintain the trust of the Indonesian people.

"Please maintain the people's trust. Protect our people and our economy as well. Those are your duties and obligations," she remarked after casting her vote at the Bintaro 73 Polling Station (TPS) in South Tangerang, Banten, on Wednesday.

She noted that general elections are tools of democracy to test all the people's choices.

If the democratic system and process are implemented well, it will bring public trust which ultimately will have an impact on maintaining the national economy, Indrawati affirmed.

Hence, she expressed hope that democracy can be well maintained during the 2024 elections.

"This is the people's belief. If the system and the process is good, the people will believe in it. God willing, the results will be good, and the economy will be good as well," she remarked.

The 2024 elections are being held to elect the president and vice president, members of the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI), Regional Representatives Council (DPD), and Regional Legislative Councils (DPRD) at the provincial, city, and district levels, with a national level permanent voter list (DPT) of 204,807,222 voters.

Some 18 national political parties participate in the 2024 election that include the National Awakening Party (PKB), Gerindra Party, PDI Perjuangan, Golkar Party, NasDem Party, Labor Party, and Gelora Indonesia Party.

The Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), Nusantara Awakening Party (PKN), Hanura Party, Garuda Party, National Mandate Party (PAN), Crescent Star Party (PBB), Democratic Party, Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI), Perindo Party, United Development Party (PPP), and Ummat Party are also taking part in the election.

Apart from that, there are six local political parties: the Nanggroe Aceh Party, Atjeh Beusaboh Tha'at and Taqwa Generation Party, Darul Aceh Party, Aceh Party, Aceh Prosperous and Fair Party, and Aceh People's Independent Solidity Party.

Meanwhile, the three pairs of presidential-vice presidential candidates participating in this year's election are Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar with official number 1; Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, official number 2; and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, official number 3.

In accordance with the General Elections Commission (KPU) Regulation Number 3 of 2022, the national vote recapitulation for the 2024 Election is scheduled to take place from February 15 to March 20, 2024.

Related news: Election visit essential to showcase transparency of democracy: BKSAP
Related news: Election delay likely in two regions due to floods, damaged papers
Related news: Bawaslu finds 355 violations during election campaign on social media

Translator: Imamatul Silfia, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Azis Kurmala
Copyright © ANTARA 2024