Jakarta (ANTARA) - An exit poll conducted by research company Indikator Politik Indonesia showed that presidential candidate Prabowo Subianto and his running mate Gibran Rakabuming Raka are leading the general elections held on Wednesday.

Indikator predicted they would win the presidential election in a single round.

According to the exit poll, the pair garnered 56.1 percent of votes, followed by Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar with 24.6 percent and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD with 14.2 percent.

The exit poll was conducted at 3,000 polling stations (TPS) across Indonesia with random samples, with the data received covering 2,857 respondents.

"It is very obvious that Prabowo-Gibran is leading the race over other pairs," said Muhammad Adam Kamil, Indikator's research director, during a press conference on Wednesday.

He said that the exit poll results were consistent with his company's quick count, in which the pair secured 58.02 percent of votes based on 69.47 percent of all votes polled.

The 1945 Constitution stipulates that a one-round presidential election can be realized if a presidential and vice presidential candidate pair gets more than 50 percent of all votes, with a vote distribution of at least 20 percent in each province and spread across at least 20 provinces, representing more than half of the number of provinces.

"We found that the majority of voters who had just left the TPS voted for the Prabowo-Gibran pair, around 56 percent," Kamil said.

An exit poll is different from a quick count, which is carried out based on the results of official vote counting at polling stations. Exit polls are based on interviews with voters who have cast their ballots at polling stations.

On February 14, voters cast their ballots to elect president, vice president, and members of the House of Representatives (DPR), Regional Representatives Council (DPD), and Regional Legislative Councils (DPRD) at the provincial, city, and district levels.

Eligible voters across the country number 204,807,222 people.

The General Election Commission (KPU) will recap all official vote counts until March 20.

Related news: Prabowo-Gibran win big at polling station where Prabowo voted
Related news: Luhut rules out ministerial role after general elections

Translator: Nadia Putri Rahmani, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Anton Santoso
Copyright © ANTARA 2024