Jakarta (ANTARA) - President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) inaugurated Hadi Tjahjanto as coordinating minister for political, legal, and security affairs and Agus Harimurti Yudhoyono (AHY) as agrarian affairs and spatial planning minister at the State Palace, Jakarta, on Wednesday.

The two were appointed as per Presidential Decree Number 34 P of 2024 on Discharge and Appointment of Ministers of the Onward Indonesia Cabinet for the 2019-2024 Period, dated February 20, 2024.

At the inauguration ceremony, Tjahjanto and AHY took the oath of office, guided by President Jokowi.

"In the name of God, I pledge that I will be loyal to the 1945 Constitution and genuinely carry out all applicable laws for the sake of my devotion and service to the nation and country," the two said while taking their oath.

Earlier, Tjahjanto served as agrarian affairs and spatial planning minister, while the coordinating minister for political, legal, and security affairs office was held by Home Affairs Minister Tito Karnavian who served as an acting minister.

Tjahjanto was the commander of the Indonesian Defense Forces (TNI) for the 2017-2021 period before being appointed to the agrarian affairs and spatial planning minister's office in June 2022.

Meanwhile, AHY, who is the first son of Indonesia's Sixth President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, started his career in the military by joining the Military Academy in 1997.

He graduated in 2000 as the best graduate and was awarded the prestigious Adhi Makayasa award.

During his military duty, AHY pursued higher education and obtained three master's degrees, namely from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, in 2006; Harvard University, the United States, in 2010; and Webster University, the United States, in 2015.

AHY decided to resign from the TNI at the end of 2016 to enter the world of politics, following in his father's footsteps.

He then became a candidate for the 2017 Jakarta gubernatorial race, with support from the Democratic Party, National Awakening Party (PKB), National Mandate Party (PAN), and United Development Party (PPP).

On March 15, 2020, AHY was appointed as general chairperson of the Democratic Party for the 2020-2025 period.

Related news: President Jokowi signs publishers' rights regulation
Related news: President Jokowi expects increased investment after peaceful elections

Translator: Rangga Pandu, Raka Adji
Editor: Arie Novarina
Copyright © ANTARA 2024