Jakarta (ANTARA News) - President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono expressed his appreciation to teachers and schools that have conducted environment education for their students from elementary to senior high school level.

"Anyone who knows education thinks that the first 12 years is the golden age for building one`s character and behavior," he said in his speech at the Environment Day commemoration at the Presidential Palace here on Tuesday.

President Yudhoyono said efforts by the teachers and schools must be supported so that more and more children of Indonesia would be made aware of the importance of the environment.

On the occasion, President Yudhoyono presented awards for schools that have environment outlook.

Among the elementary schools receiving the awards are SDN 12 Bendungan Hilir, Jakarta, SDN 9 Bantarjati, Bogor, West Java, SDN4 Metro, Lampung, SDN Kandangan III Surabaya, SDN 001 Lima Puluh, Pekanbaru, Riau, SDN Dinoyo III, Malang, East Java, and DDN 005 Bukit Raya, Pekanbaru, Riau.

Awards for junior high schools went to SMPN 2 Kebomas, Gresik, East Java, SMPN 1 Merakurak, Tuban, East Java, SMPN 10, Sukabumi, West Java, SMPN 10 Samarinda, East Kalimantan, SMPN 1, Cigombong, Sukabumi, West Java, SMP Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta and SMP 1 Balikpapan, East Kalimantan.

Senior high schools receiving the awards were SMA 10 Malang, East Java, SMKN 1 Probolinggo, East Java, SMAN 1 Wringinanom, Gresik, East Java, SMAN 5 Jember, East Java, SMAN 2 Wonosari, Yogyakarta, SMAN 1 Bandar Bener Meuriah, Aceh, and SMAN 1 Geger, Madiun, East Java.

President Yudhoyono on the occasion also presented "Kalpataru" award for environment saviors and "Adipura" award for city environment and cleanliness.

Receiving environment pioneer awards meanwhile were Sugiarto from Cowek village, Pasuruan, East Java, Marmis Asid from Jalan Lintas Talu Panti, West Pasaman, West Sumatra and Lulut Sri Yeliani from Surabaya, East Java.

The award for environment service went to Soleman Ngongo from Tematana village, South West Sumbawa, East Nusa Tenggara, Surjadi SP from Bangli, Bali, and Sudarli from Purwodadi, Gunung Kidul, Yogyakarta.

Aang Hamid Suganda from Kuningan, West Java, and Krido Suprayitno from Sendangtirto, Sleman, Yogyakarta, received awards for environment development.

Adipura recipients include Surabaya and Palembang for metropolitan category, Yogyakarta and Pekanbaru for big city category. Seventeen medium-sized and 42 small cities also received the award.

The commemoration was attended by all cabinet ministers, heads of state institutions and other officials. ***4***

Editor: Priyambodo RH
Copyright © ANTARA 2011