Asian Games torch relay proceeds to Aceh

Asian Games torch relay proceeds to Aceh

mini cauldron of the Asian Games flame. (Aditya E.S. Wicaksono)

Banjarmasin, S Kalimanan (ANTARA News) - The Asian Games torch relay was concluded in Banjarmasin, South Kalimantan, and proceeded to Indonesia`s westernmost province of Aceh on Tuesday.

The torch was scheduled to arrive at the Sultan Iskandar Muda Airport in Banda Aceh at 9 a.m. local time, Syaifullah of the torch relay organizing committee stated.

Mayor of Banda Aceh in Rumoh Museum will officially kick off the 10-kilometer (km)-long torch relay in the capital of Aceh. The relay will end in the office of the Aceh governor.

From Aceh, the torch relay will head to Lake Toba, North Sumatra Province, by plane in the evening.

On the previous day, the Asian Games 2018 torch was kept for a night in Banjarmasin after touring Makassar, South Sulawesi.

The month-long torch relay covers a total distance of over 18 thousand km, touring 53 cities and districts in 18 provinces across Indonesia.

A total of 16,920 athletes and officials from 45 Asian countries have been registered for the Games. Overall, more than 11 thousand athletes will vie for medals in 40 sports and 67 disciplines.

The torch relay began in Yogyakarta on July 17 and will end on Aug 17 in Jakarta, a day before the Asian Games 2018 is officially opened by President Joko Widodo.

The torch`s route includes Solo, Central Java Province; Blitar, Malang, Probolinggo, and Banyuwangi in East Java; Gilimanuk, Kuta, and Denpasar in Bali Province; Mataram in West Nusa Tenggara; Raja Ampat and Sorong in West Papua; Makassar in South Sulawesi; Banjarmasin in South Kalimantan; Banda Aceh in Aceh Province; Lake Toba in North Sumatra; Pekanbaru in Riau; Bukit Tinggi in West Sumatra; Jambi, Palembang, Banyuasin, and Prabumulih in South Sumatra; Bandar Lampung in Lampung; Serang in Banten; and Purwakarta, Bandung, Garut, Cianjur, and Bogor in West Java.

The 18th Asian Games will be co-hosted by Jakarta and Palembang, South Sumatra Province, from August 18 to September 2, 2018.

Reporting by Bayu Kuncahyo
Editing by Fardah