Balige, North Sumatra (ANTARA) - Last season's world champion Shaun Torrente sat in the first place in the qualifying session for the first round of the 2023 F1 Powerboat World Championship (F1H2O) taking place in Lake Toba's Muliaraja Napitupulu Harbor area of Balige Sub-district, North Sumatra Province, on Sunday.

The racer from the Abu Dhabi Team recorded the best time in the 45-minute session with 57.68 seconds. With this result, Torrente started in first position in race 1.

The second position was taken over by Bartek Marszalek from the Stromoy Racing F1H2O Team, who recorded a time of 58.21 seconds, followed by Erik Stark from the Victory Team in third place with 58.35 seconds.

The fourth and fifth positions were grabbed respectively by Sami Selio from Sharjah Team with a record of 58.38 seconds, and Jonas Andersson from Sweden Team with a record time of 58.52 seconds.

The weather and strong winds on Saturday forced the qualification session, which was scheduled at 03:00 p.m. local time, to be conducted on Sunday at 08.00 a.m. local time.

The Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM) as the federation that oversees the motor boat event and H2O Racing as the promoter modified the opening round of this competition by holding two races -- the first time in the history of F1 Powerboat.

Later, the results of race 1 will determine the pole position for race 2 which is scheduled to start at 03:00 p.m. local time.

Today's powerboat race is also accompanied by a series of activities such as water attractions, seaplanes landing on Lake Toba, music performance of singer Lea Simanjuntak, and performance of the Jupiter Aerobatic Team. President Joko Widodo is also scheduled to attend today's race.

Below are the results of the 2023 Lake Toba F1 Powerboat qualification:

1. Shaun Torrente (USA) Abu Dhabi Team 57.68 seconds
2.Bartek Marszalek (Poland) Stromoy Racing F1H2O Team 58.21 seconds
3.Erik Stark (Sweden) Victory Team 58.35 seconds
4.Sami Selio (Finland) Sharjah Team 58.38 seconds
5.Jonas Andersson (Sweden) Sweden Team 58.52 seconds
6.Peter Morin (France) China CTIC Team 58.89 seconds
7.Ferdinand Zandbergen (Netherlands) Sharjah Team 59.08 seconds
8. Ahmed Al-Fahim (UAE) Victory Team 59.11 seconds
9. Thani Al-Qemzi (UAE) Abu Dhabi Team 59.23 seconds
10.Marit Stromoy (Norway) Stromoy Racing F1H2O Team 1 minute 00.68 seconds
11.Brent Dillard (USA) China CTIC Team 1 minute 82 seconds
12.Alberto Comparato (Italy) Comparato F1 Team 1 minute 01.60 seconds
13.Alexandre Bourgeot (France) Maverick Racing Team 1 minute 03.12 seconds
14.Kalle Viippo (Finland) Sweden Team 1 minute 03.18 seconds
15.Cedric Deguisne (France) Maverick Racing Team 1 minute 03.19 seconds
16.Alec Weckström (Finland) Gillman Racing Team 1 min 03.42 sec
17.Brock Cohen (Australia) Comparato F1 Team 1 min 03.84 sec
18.Filip Roms (Finland) Gillman Racing Team 1 min 04.43 sec
19.Duarte Benavente (Portugal) F1 Atlantic Team 1 min 05.89 sec
20.Ben Jelf (England) F1 Atlantic Team 1 minute 06.94 seconds

Related news: Seaplane to make first landing at Lake Toba: Official
Related news: Trauma center prepared for F1H2O championship at Lake Toba

Translator: Muhammad Ramdan, Resinta S
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2023