202 Indonesian regions to hold local elections in 2015

Padang, W Sumatra (ANTARA News) - At least 202 regions in Indonesia will organize regional head elections in 2015, Chairman of the National Election Commission (KPU) Husni Kamil Manik has said.

The local elections would consist of nine gubernatorial elections, 26 mayor elections, and 167 district head elections, Manik said here on Sunday.

The Commission plans to organize the local elections simultaneously in October 2015.

The government is currently drafting a new regulation on regional head elections.

"We have been making preparations for the implementation of the regional elections, while at the same time we are waiting for a new regulation to be approved," he added.

The implementation of the local elections will be financed by state budget funds.

Chairman of the West Sumatra KPU Amnasmen said regional head elections were planned to be held simultaneously in 13 districts and municipalities across West Sumatra Province next year.

The districts and municipalities include South Pesisir, Tanah Datar, Limapuluh Kota, Kota Solok , Solok, Padang Pariaman, and Bukittinggi.

Indonesia this year organized nation-wide legislative elections on April 9 and presidential elections on July 9, 2014.