Yogyakarta (ANTARA News) - The Parliament has no power to reject listed candidates proposed by the president for new leaders of the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK), a researcher said.

"Under the KPK law, the parliament has no power to veto or to reject all candidates proposed by the president," Oce Madril from the Anti Corruption Study Center of the Gajah Mada University (UGM) Yogyakarta said here on Sunday.

The statement came after concern expressed by many that the parliament would use its power to weaken even to dissolve the anti graft agency.

Oce said, the Commission III of the House of Representatives (DPR) could only select one from the list of candidates proposed by the president after a fit and proper test.

"Therefore, there should be no cause for fear of possible rejection by the Parliament of any candidates proposed by the government," he said here on Sunday.

Another researcher from the Study Center, Hifdzil Alim, said he hoped the process of selection of the candidates in the parliament is transparent and accountable.

KPK deputy chairman Busyro Muqoddas, will soon end his first five year term and his replacement is being processed.

"The Parliament should be transparent in the process of selection. The process should be open for the media coverage," Hifdzil said.

He said he was worried with the political constellation in the Parliament that could influence the process of selection.

He said his suspicion and eroding trust in the parliament began when it suggested revision of the KPK law.

The Selection Committee has narrowed the list of candidates to two after tight interviews of six candidates -- Jamin Ginting (academician), Busyro Muqoddas, who is bidding for a second term, I Wayan Sudirta (a lawyer), Ahmad Taufik (a journalist and lawyer), Robby Arya Brata (a lawyer), and Subagio (a retired civil servant) .

The Committee will present the two candidates to the president on Oct 13 and the president would proposed the names to the Commission III of the Parliament to select one of them.

Editor: Priyambodo RH
Copyright © ANTARA 2014