Jakarta (ANTARA) - At least 22 political parties have joined the General Elections Commission’s (KPU RI’s) Political Party Information System (Sipol) set up for the 2024 General Elections, the KPU RI has confirmed.

"The total number of political parties that currently have a Sipol account is 22," KPU RI Commissioner Idham Holik informed here on Monday.

Of the 22 political parties, 7 political parties participated in the 2019 elections with parliamentary representatives, five political parties participated in the 2019 elections without parliamentary representatives, and 10 political parties did not participate in the 2019 elections, he said.

On Friday (June 24, 2022), the commission launched the Sipol system to improve the registration and verification process for political parties seeking to participate in the 2024 elections.

"Starting from today, June 24, until the end of the registration period for political parties, we open the Sipol access. We designate the Sipol as the system to assist the registration and verification of political parties," Holik said on Friday.

The development of the system is consistent with the provisions of Law No. 7 of 2017, which has assigned the General Elections Commission the authority to manage political party registrations and verifications, he explained.

Data that political parties are required to submit through the system include their political party’s profile, membership, leadership structure, and the address of their party’s permanent office, he said.

KPU RI has also opened a help desk where political parties can seek assistance regarding registering their parties, the commissioner added.

Related news: Jokowi advises supporters against election haste

As of Monday, Golkar Party, Democratic Party, Nasdem Party, Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P), United Development Party (PPP), Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), and Great Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra) have joined Sipol.

Further, People's Conscience Party (Hanura), Star Crescent Party (PBB), Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI), Justice and Unity Party (PKP), and Change Indonesia Movement Party (Garuda), which participated in the 2019 elections without parliamentary representatives, have also registered on Sipol.

Meanwhile, Bhinneka Indonesia Party, Indonesian People's Voice Party, Just and Prosperous People's Party (PRIMA), Unity of Indonesia Party, Ummah Party, Indonesian People's Wave Party (Gelora), Nusantara Awakening Party, Nation's Guide Party, My Republic Party, and Village Awakening Movement Party (Perkasa)—extra-parliamentary parties that did not participate in the 2019 elections—have also gained Sipol access.

Related news: KPU launches implementation stages of 2024 General Election

Translator: Boyke Ledy Watra, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2022