Semarang, Central Java (ANTARA) - Presidential and vice presidential candidate pair Ganjar Pranowo and Mahfud MD garnered the highest number of votes at Polling Station No. 11 of Lempungsari Village, Semarang City, Central Java, Wednesday.

Polling Station No. 11 was the location where Ganjar cast his vote on Election Day. Meanwhile, his running mate, Mahfud, exercised his voting rights in Sleman District, Yogyakarta.

The Ganjar-Mahfud pair received 172 votes from the 270 voters at the polling station.

Meanwhile, candidate pair Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka received 76 votes, while Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar secured only 19 votes.

Three invalid votes were recorded at the polling station. Bambang Sarjito, head of the Polling Station No. 11 organizing committee, noted that the votes were invalid, as all presidential candidates were marked on the ballot.

Ganjar cast his vote at the polling station after 8 a.m. local time (UTC +7). The presidential hopeful took along his spouse, Siti Atikoh, and son, Muhammad Zinedine Alam Ganjar.

Ganjar's National Campaign Team Chief Arsjad Rasjid and Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle's (PDI-P's) regional office head, Hendrar Prihadi, also accompanied Ganjar to cast the vote.

After exercising his voting rights, Ganjar and his family departed for Jakarta to meet PDI-P chief Megawati Soekarnoputri and monitor the quick count results at the campaign headquarters.

More than 204 million Indonesian voters cast their ballot on February 14 to elect the president and vice president, members of the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI), Regional Representatives Council (DPD), and regional legislatures (DPRD) at the provincial, city, and district levels.

The three candidate pairs vying for the national leadership in this year's election are Anies Baswedan and Muhaimin Iskandar as candidate number one; Prabowo Subianto and Gibran Rakabuming Raka as candidate number two; and Ganjar Pranowo and Mahfud MD as candidate number three.

According to KPU Regulation No. 3 of 2022, the nationwide vote recapitulation for the 2024 Election is scheduled to take place from February 15 to March 20, 2024.

Related news: Former president Yudhoyono casts vote in hometown in East Java
Related news: Former president Megawati hopes no fraud occurs in election
Related news: Bawaslu recommends re-voting at flooded polling stations

Translator: IC Senjaya, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Azis Kurmala
Copyright © ANTARA 2024