Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesian contingent became overall champion in the first-ever Best of the Best international taekwondo tournament that took place at Amongrogo sport hall here on Sunday.

By winning the match, the Indonesian team obtained the rotating trophy from Yogyakarta provincial governor, Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono-X, the Universal Taekwondo Indonesia Profesional (UTI Pro) announced through its press release on Sunday.

The Indonesian team grabbed 76 gold, 84 silver and 131 bronze medals, and followed by South Korean team with 14 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze medals in the competition that took place from June 28 through 30.

Malaysian team meanwhile, obtained 8 gold, 14 silver and 33 bronze medals.

The Best of the Best international taekwondo tournament was participated in by 22 countries among other things South Korea, Australia, Japan, United States, Malaysia, Singapore, Luxembourg and the host Indonesia.

Indonesia fielded 300 taekwondo athletes who were selected through regional competition.

In the meantime, Youth and Sports affairs Minister, Roy Suryo, who closed the tournament, expressed his appreciation to the UTI Pro that successfully invited 22 foreign teams to join the tournament.


Editor: Jafar M Sidik
Copyright © ANTARA 2013