Jakarta (ANTARA) - President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) will commence the transition of leadership to president-elect Prabowo Subianto following the recent Constitutional Court ruling confirming the latter's election victory.

"The government will be ready and fully support the government transition to the president- and vice president-elect," presidential special staff coordinator Ari Dwipayana said here on Monday.

He said that Jokowi respects the court's decision on the presidential election results dispute, as the verdict is final and binding.

Besides preparing for the presidential transition, the government is committed to implementing all of its agendas until the conclusion of Jokowi's presidential term in October 2024, Ari said.

The Constitutional Court on Monday dismissed in entirety the challenges to the presidential election results filed by the other two pairs of candidates: Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud M.D.

The election dispute verdict was read by Chief Justice Suhartoyo on Monday afternoon following the conclusion of court hearings on April 16 and the justices' deliberations on April 21.

The court ruled that Anies-Muhaimin's and Ganjar-Mahfud's challenges to the election results, seeking to annul Prabowo and Gibran Rakabuming Raka's victory, were not legally reasonable.

Five out of the eight justices ruled against the challenges, and three justices—Saldi Isra, Enny Nurbaningsih, and Arief Hidayat—offered dissenting opinions. Justice Anwar Usman, Gibran's uncle, did not participate in the ruling out of concern for a conflict of interest.

Both plaintiffs had urged the MK to annul General Elections Commission (KPU) Decision No. 360 of 2024, declaring Prabowo and Gibran as the candidates with the highest votes in the recent presidential election.

They had also asked the court to disqualify Prabowo-Gibran and order a repeat election without the pair.

Related news: President Jokowi respects MK's ruling on presidential election dispute
Related news: MK dismisses challenges to Prabowo-Gibran's election win

Translator: Rangga Pandu AJ, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Anton Santoso
Copyright © ANTARA 2024