Debat Capres

Presidential candidates to meet in first TV debate tonight

Presidential candidates to meet in first TV debate tonight

a banner on the first presidential candidate debate scheduled for January 17, 2019. (Rangga Jingga)

Jakarta (ANTARA News)- The General Election Commission (KPU) will organize the first TV debate of presidential candidates in the evening of Thursday.

The debate between incumbent Joko Widodo (Jokowi) and his running mate, Ma`ruf Amin, and rival Prabowo Subianto and his partner Sandiaga Uno, will air live on television stations such as TVRI, and RTV, as well as state-owned radio RRI, at 7:30 p.m. Western Indonesian Standard Time (WIB).

They will answer questions on human rights, corruption, law and terrorism issues.

The panelists of the debate will be Hikmahanto Juwana of the University of Indonesia (UI), former Supreme Court chief Bagir Manan, the Human Rights Commission (Komnas HAM) Chief Ahmad Taufan Damanik, state administration experts Bivitri Susanti and Margarito Kamis.

Moderators of the debate will be TV presenter Ira Kusno and Imam Prayitno.

Indonesia will organize presidential elections on April 17, 2019, considered by many as a repeat of the bitter 2014 presidential race, wherein incumbent Jokowi and Subianto are again set to go head-to-head.

As part of the campaign process, five presidential candidate debates are scheduled for January 17, February 17, March 17, March 30, and April 13, 2019.

Seeking a second term, Jokowi, a furniture businessman, has picked Ma`ruf Amin, chairman of the Indonesian Ulema Council, as his partner, while retired general Subianto has chosen Sandiaga Salahuddin Uno, a young and successful entrepreneur and former deputy governor of Jakarta, as his running mate.

The Jokowi-Amin pair is backed by a coalition called the Working Indonesian Coalition (KIK) involving nine political parties that have set up a national campaign team for Jokowi.

The Subianto-Uno pair is supported by only four political parties, notably Gerindra, which is founded by Subianto; National Mandate Party; Justice Prosperous Party; and Democratic Party established by former president Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

Reporting by M Arief Iskandar, Fardah